Adding and Removing Users in a Personal Chat

    There are two types of chats:
  • Personal Chats are private and only accessible to the user(s) the instructor has added to the chat’s participants list. Personal chats are ideal for communicating with individual users or smaller groups of users. Anyone with the proper permissions can create personal chat rooms.
  • General Chats are public chats accessible to all users enrolled in the course where the chat was created. Instructors can create general chat rooms to incorporate chat discussions into the teaching of a course since they are automatically open to all users enrolled in the course.

  1. From the Communication menu, select Chat.
  2. Select the Drop-Down Menu next to the title of the chat.
  3. Select View Members. View Members highlighted.
  4. Select Add Members. Add Members button highlighted.
  5. Select the Checkbox next to the name of user(s) to be added. NOTE: You can select users from different course offerings using the Select Different Course link. Selected users demonstrated.
  6. Select Add.
  7. Select Done.
  8. To remove users from a chat, follow steps 1-3.
  9. Select the Checkbox next to the name of the user(s) you wish to remove.
  10. Select Delete. Screenshot of the Chat Members list, highlighting the Delete button.
  11. Select Delete from the confirmation pop-up. Screenshot of the Confirmation with Delete button highlighted.
  12. Select Done.